with one smile
Yankee Boy Basin, Ouray, CO

Here I am!

An Illinois cornfield.Hiiiiiii everyone.  I know, I know; I’m the world’s shittiest blogger.

This past month has been a whirlwind of wrapping up at the residency, packing up my car (*nightmare), taking down several art shows, and saying goodbye to all of my new Paonian friends.  Which was heartbreaking.  I would have blogged if I could, but honestly, the whole thing was too emotional and chaotic for me to put words to keyboard.  So forgive me my negligence.

I left Colorado on Thursday, July 19th and arrived on Cape Cod Monday, July 23, where I’ll be staying with my parents through the end of the summer, moving their lawn for $20/week (I know; they must be so proud).  😉

You can check out a *ton* of new photos on my Flickr page, including pictures of "Metropolis Preposterous," a collaborative piece between me & Maya.my grand finale collaborative show with Maya at the Blue Sage Center for the Arts, as well as my homemade road trip dance party music videos (you heard me) that I made during my 2,300-mile solo trek across the country.I miss you, Dan Kline.

The hardest person to say goodbye to, of course, was my friend Dan, who grew up with me on the Cape and just so happens to live 29 miles down the road from Paonia.  Dan took me on countless Colorado adventures, let me drink all of his wine, and let me live with him both before and after my time at Elsewhere.  Despite the fact that I got the cops called on us at 2 AM when I forgot to lock the back door and his giant dogs got out, Dan was always there for me, and I couldn’t have done any of this without him.  But as I learned in Paonia, you don’t ever say goodbye; you say “hello.”  So hello, Dan, and thank you for everything.  By hell or high water I’ll see you soon, goddamn it.

Thank you all for your understanding as I transition from Colorado back to the real world.  Going to Elsewhere for three months was the best decision I could have made, but leaving was also one of the most difficult times of my life.

I promise to try and blog on a more regular basis, especially since I have so much to fill you guys in on!

Love and gratitude,

Hilary

This entry was published on July 30, 2012 at 10:52 am and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

